Snapchat continues reminding users to tidy up their list of mates
The app reminds consumers that it’s just for ‘real friends’
On Snapchat, having someone friended could give them access to your story and even possibly your location, depending on your Snap Map settings, so Snap wants to make sure that everyone on your friends list is still someone you actually want to call your friend.
It’s not a new sentiment for Snap, which has long billed itself as an app that’s geared more towards close friends rather than a large social graph. But it’s the latest way the company is trying to distance itself from Facebook, which is still grappling with how features like groups fueled a massive disinformation criss.
If you’d like to do a check up yourself before the feature rolls out, you can see your friends list by going to your profile and tapping on My Friends. You can remove a friend by tapping and holding on their name until the Block / Remove friend menu appears.